IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence in Healthcare and E-Health


Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Nov. 27-Dec. 1, 2017

Know More


IEEE CICARE 2017 is the first Symposium of its kind, established since 2013, that brings together leading research and clinical scientists, engineers, practitioners, technology and solution providers to discuss state-of-the-art in theory and practice of computational intelligence, for addressing the growing scale and complexity of real-world healthcare and e-health problems. The Symposium will also feature Panel discussions to outline future research directions and challenges in this emerging multi-disciplinary field.

IEEE CICARE 2017 is being held as part of the IEEE Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence (SSCI’2017), Honolulu, Hawaii, USA from Nov. 27 to Dec 1, 2017. The IEEE SSCI is a flagship annual international conference on computational intelligence sponsored by the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society.


  • Big Data Analytics and Visualization
  • Multimodal data analysis
  • Ontology Driven Knowledge Management
  • Cloud Computing and Internet of Things (IoT) Applications
  • Decision Support Systems
  • Privacy and Security
  • Personalized, Preventative and Prognostic (e)healthcare
  • Social Media
  • Gamification and Medical Education
  • Assisted Living and Assistive Technologies
  • Biosensors and Sensor Networks
  • Telemedicine
  • Grid computing
  • Interoperability
  • Medical and clinical Informatics
  • Confidentiality and Data Security
  • Wearable Devices for e-health
  • Semantic Interoperability
  • Cognitive Informatics
  • Affective Computing
  • Human-Machine Interfaces
  • ICT, Ageing and Disability
  • Mobile technologies for Healthcare applications (m-Health)
  • Evaluation and usability
  • Healthcare Knowledge Management and Information Systems
  • Personal e-Health Records and Standards
  • Pervasive Health Systems and Services
  • Computer Vision
  • Pattern recognition and Machine Learning
  • Public Health
  • Integrating genetics with e- and m-health
  • Therapeutic and Rehabilitation approaches
  • Other emerging topics in e-health and healthcare

Special Sessions

All special session proposals containing a title of the special session, to which symposium it is proposed to, names, affiliations and email addresses of proposers, together with a description of aims and scope of the special session and a list of 6-10 potential contributors, should be sent using following email

Important Dates

  • Special Session Proposals - April 2, 2017
  • Paper Submissions - July 16, 2017
  • Decision - September 4, 2017
  • Final submission - October 1, 2017
  • Early Registration - October 1, 2017

General Co-Chairs

Amir Hussain
University of Stirling, Scotland, UK

Aziz Sheikh
University of Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

Newton Howard
Oxford University, UK / MIT Media Lab, USA

Honorary Chair

Warner Slack
Clinical Informatics Division, Harvard Medical School,
Boston, USA

Program Co-Chairs

Muhammad A. Imran
University of Glasgow, UK

Junaid Qadir
IT University, Lahore, Pakistan

Jonathan Wu
University of Windsor, Canada

Publicity Chairs

Rajib Rana
University of Southern Queensland, Australia

Mubashir H. Rehmani
COMSATS Institute of IT, Pakistan.

Bin Luo
Anhui University, China

Al-Sakib K. Pathan
Southeast University, Bangladesh

Special Session Chair

M. Mujeeb-U-Rahman
Integrated Medical Sensors (USA)
IT University, Pakistan

Publicity Chair

Dr. Wadii Boulila
RIADI Laboratory
University of Manouba, Tunisia


Symposium Secretary

Dr. Kamran Farooq
Microsoft, UK

Assistant Secretary

Mandar Gogate
University of Stirling, UK

Industry Liaison Chair

Dr. Zeeshan Malik
eBay, Canada

Program Committee

  • Ziad Kobti, University of Windsor, Canada
  • Adnan Masood Siddiqui, The Beatson, West of Scotland Cancer Centre, Glasgow, UK
  • Abdulla Alhasso, The Beatson, West of Scotland Cancer Centre, Glasgow, UK
  • Ahsan Abdullah, King Abdulaziz University, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • Aman Shams, Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, UK
  • Amir Atiya, Cairo University, Egypt
  • Amir Shah, University Hospital Crosshouse, Kilmarnock, Scotland, UK
  • Andrew Abel, University of Stirling, Scotland, UK
  • Aneel Zaheer, Kings College London Hospital, UK
  • Anna Esposito, Second University of Naples and IIASS - Vietri sul Mare (SA), Italy
  • Aziz Sheikh, Centre of Population Health Sciences, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Azzam Taktak, The Royal Liverpool University Hospital, UK
  • Ali Zahid, Victoria Hospital, Fife, UK
  • Bin Luo, Anhui University, China
  • Erfu Yang, University of Strathclyde, UK
  • Eric Chang, Microsoft Asia, Beijing, China
  • Erik Cambria, NTU, Singapore
  • Fabio Augusto Gonzalez Osorio, National University of Colombia, Colombia
  • Frances Mair, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Guftar Shaikh, Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Glasgow, UK
  • Haider Ali Al-Lawati, Muscat College, Oman
  • Hicham Attasi, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
  • Hollis Kowaloff, Beth Israel Clinical Informatics, USA
  • Igor Aleksander, Imperial College, London, UK
  • Irfan Faridoon, Western General Hospital, Edinburgh, UK
  • Jozsef Farkas, University of Stirling, Scotland, UK
  • Jingpeng Li, University of Stirling, Scotland, UK
  • Jin Tang, Anhui University, China
  • Junichi Tsujii, Microsoft Asia, Beijing, UK
  • Kaizhu Huang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
  • Kang Li, Queen’s University, Belfast, UK
  • Keshav Dahal, University of West of Scotland, Scotland, UK
  • Khaled Khankan, Taibah University, Saudi Arabia
  • Khalid Aloufi, Taibah University, Saudi Arabia
  • Mohammed Abdur Rajak, Ucare Foundation, Glasgow, UK
  • Marcos Faundez-Zanuy, Escola University-Politecnic Mataro, Spain
  • Maria Aftab, Sir Syed Medical College, Karachi, Pakistan
  • Marjorie Skubic, University of Missouri, Columbia, USA
  • Matthew Bailey, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Mohamed Chetouani, University of Pierre Marie-Curie, France
  • Muaz Niazi, COMSATS University, Pakistan
  • Mufti Mahmud, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Naeem-ur-Rehman, United Technologies (UNITECH), Dubai, UAE
  • Ricardo Imbert, University of Madrid, Spain
  • Sophia Ananiadou, University of Manchester, UK
  • Stefano Squartini, Ancona University, Italy
  • Stephen Leslie, Raigmore Hospital, Inverness, Scotland, UK
  • Tingwen Huang, Texas A&M University at Qatar, Qatar
  • Usman Bashir, Western General Hospital, Edinburgh, UK
  • Vassilis Cutsuridis, King's College, London, UK
  • Vladimir Bajic, KAUST, Saudi Arabia
  • Wajeeha Aneel, University of Bedfordshire, UK
  • William Buchanan, Napier University, UK
  • Zdenek Smekal, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
  • Zubair Khan, King Khalid University Hospital, Riyadh, KSA